The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) is an agency within the Department of Transportation that develops and enforces safety standards for commercial truck drivers. Its rules are simple, but they’re also largely unknown to the general public. They include the limit of 11 hours of driving in a fourteen-hour period and the requirement to take a 10-hour break.
The new rules are intended to improve safety and improve driver training in the trucking industry. The DOT has taken several steps to help the industry deal with the growing driver shortage. The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act will allow young drivers to make cross-country trips. It also requires drivers to complete additional training. The goal is to create a uniform training program for truck drivers that makes a meaningful difference in driver safety.
The exception is limited to certain circumstances. For example, if a driver is delivering goods in the immediate vicinity of a disaster site, such as Hurricane Harvey, they will not be subject to the 10-hour limit. If the emergency is a natural disaster, the FMCSA will issue a Regional Declaration of Emergency for Texas and Louisiana, which will allow drivers to operate on an emergency basis and return home after a full day’s rest. The exception also applies to the oil transportation industry. For example, salesperson drivers are not required to follow the seven-day workweek.
What Drivers are Subject to FMCSA?
There are several different categories of drivers who are subject to FMCSA inspections. Depending on the category, you may be subject to fines or even prosecution for violations. These regulations are in place to help keep drivers safe. In particular, the FMCSA requires commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) to be properly maintained and inspected. Motor carriers must also maintain records of maintenance and inspections.
Compliance with these rules is crucial for both drivers and carriers. A violation could negatively impact a carrier’s safety rating and can even get a driver thrown out of service. An ELD compliance solution, like Samsara’s, can make this process as easy as possible for everyone, including drivers.
Companies that transport goods, services, and people must abide by rules regarding their drivers’ hours of service (HOS). There are a few exceptions to this rule, but generally speaking, employers must comply with the FMCSA’s HOS rules.
Do Local CDL Drivers Need Logbooks?
If you are a local CDL driver, you may have been wondering if you’re allowed to use an exemption from FMCSA hours of service regulations. This exemption only applies if you have been driving less than 150 air miles in a day. In addition, you may only be allowed to drive 11 hours per day within a fourteen-hour day. However, you are still required to keep your records for six months.
First, drivers must keep their annual certification records up-to-date. These files should contain the following information: the name of the driver, their license number, and the type of CDL they hold. Drivers must also sign a form stating that they have not had any violations during the previous year. Those who drive for businesses must also keep their records current.
If a driver has a serious accident, the State Patrol will impound the vehicle. Under FMCSA guidelines, this is allowed. However, drivers should know that state or local government employees are not exempt from these regulations. This means that they may still be subject to fines and other penalties.
Who Needs Operating Authority FMCSA?
A motor carrier needs to have an operating authority from the FMCSA in order to transport passengers and other federally regulated commodities. A motor carrier must have this authority to operate in interstate commerce. This document is commonly referred to as an “MC” number. To secure this authority, the motor carrier must file proof of liability and cargo insurance with the FMCSA.
Upon receiving an application for an MC number, the FMCSA must review the applicant’s application and decide whether to grant the MC status number. The agency will then notify the applicant of the outcome of the application. Usually, it takes three to four weeks for an MC number to be activated. In any case, it is best to apply for an MC Operating Authority as soon as possible.
To apply for an MC authority, the applicant must have an FMCSA registration. It is also necessary to submit the truck’s information on incorporation. In addition, he must submit his USDOT number. This number will help the FMCSA recognize the truck. The FMCSA also requires the applicant to obtain an EIN from the IRS. The applicant must also have a pre-approval for both liability and cargo insurance. Otherwise, the application for an MC authority will be denied.
What is the Difference Between DOT And FMCSA?
The difference between the DOT and the FMCSA can be confusing for trucking companies. The DOT regulates motor vehicles, while the FMCSA regulates the safety of passenger transportation. Regardless of which one you choose, you will need to register your commercial motor vehicle to haul goods. The FMCSA requires that commercial motor vehicle operators register with them so that they can use their unique USDOT Number to track and report on safety incidents.
Pickup trucks do not need to register with the DOT or the FMCSA, because most weigh less than 10,000 pounds and rarely carry more than nine passengers. Similarly, a personal pickup truck that does not exceed the weight limit of its manufacturer will not qualify as a commercial vehicle. However, some companies will require drivers to have a commercial driver’s license.
MC Numbers are required for trucks that operate in interstate commerce. They are also required if a driver transports hazardous materials. MC numbers are more expensive than DOT numbers. The FMCSA charges an additional $300 to obtain one.
at What Weight Do You Need an ELD?
Most pickup truck drivers are required to use or install an ELD. The ELD must measure GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating), or GCWR (gross combination weight rating). This is the total weight of the vehicle, its occupants, cargo, and any attached trailer.
Fortunately, many ELDs come with automatic audit features. These make the systems more useful to drivers. Some even make it easy for drivers to indicate special HOS rules, such as the oilfield exemption. In addition, some ELDs are compatible with paper logs in case connectivity is lost.
Can Truckers Still Use Paper Logs?
Although electronic logging devices (ELDs) are required by law, there are some situations when truckers can still use paper logs. For instance, truckers who drive only a few days a month may not need to use the ELD. This exception is defined by the rules from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. In addition, many manufacturers have started producing electronic logbooks, but consumers must be certain that these are certified.
FMCSA allows truck drivers to continue using paper logs for up to 8 days if their ELD malfunctions, and it will consider driver requests for extensions. Compliance rates have steadily increased, with ninety-six percent of commercial drivers using ELDs. Meanwhile, only four percent of inspections have issued citations for non-compliant drivers. Non-compliant carriers should expect delivery delays and SMS scores to be affected.
The FMCSA has warned truckers that electronic logs will eventually eliminate paper logs. It has set a deadline of December 10, 2017 for those drivers without ELDs to make the switch.
What Year Trucks are Exempt From Elogs?
You may have wondered what year trucks are exempt from the FMCSA ELD mandate. There was some confusion about this subject, but the FMCSA recently clarified the issue. You are not required to use an ELD if your truck is more than three years old. You can also find out whether your truck is exempt by engine model year.
The exemption only applies to drivers in interstate commerce. If your truck is used for intrastate commerce, you cannot use an FMCSA ELD. This rule is only effective in certain circumstances, including trucks that are older than five years old. If your truck is more than a year old, you may still be able to use it to transport goods, but you won’t be able to drive it for more than a year.
In addition to the ELD rule, a new exemption for tank trailers has been approved by the FMCSA. The exemption allows tank trailers to be equipped with brake-activated pulsating lamps.
Learn More Here:
3.) Best Trucks